The Club
The club was formed with a view to catering to people with all types of 4WD from the new light weights coming onto the market through to the traditional heavy weights. Some owners are more interested in using their vehicle to get to out of the way places rather than the extreme four wheel driving offered by some clubs, although we are yet to meet a four wheel driver who doesn't like a bit of a challenge. We are family friendly and we encourage you to bring your children along. 

 

What do we do?
Most of our trips are suitable for all 4WD's to attend. While almost all of our trips involve four wheel driving, often this is so we can go sight seeing, bush walking or just relaxing, whatever takes your fancy. Trips can vary anywhere from a day close to Sydney, a weekend or long weekend, or even extended trips of up to a month. We even have purely social outings, like ten pin bowling!

 

What do you need?
Some people who want to try 4 wheel driving think that, before you can even start, you need to fit out your vehicle with bull bars, winches, high lift jacks, bull bags and any other of the hundreds of accessories that the after market industry has come up with. We do not expect you to have anything when you start except yourself and a 4WD, not even recovery gear, although we do expect you to get some basic recovery gear within a reasonable time. Everything else can wait until you have had time to decide what gear fits your needs and your budget. 
Our weekend trips usually involve camping out, so you will need a tent and a sleeping bag or something along those lines. As with recovery gear, if you are short of something there is bound to be someone who can help out.

 

Training?
Training courses are run as required and in between we coach people on our regular trips. If a trip is going to be particularly hard or unsuitable for the inexperienced, attendees will be notified beforehand so they can make their own decision, no one is asked to go somewhere if they feel they or their vehicle are not equipped for the conditions. We also run training courses in CPR & Emergency First Aid, Night Driving (Off Road), Sand Driving, Basic Navigation 1 (Maps) and Basic Navigation 2 (GPS). There are currently more courses are being developed they include; Driver Training (Intermediate), Driver Training (Advanced), Bush Skills, and Advanced Vehicle Recovery.

 

Club Details

Sydney District 4x4 Club Inc
P.O. Box 7122 Baulkham Hills BC
Baulkham Hills NSW 2153

email: membership.secretary at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au (please replace at with @).

Our General Meetings are held at Crestwood Community Centre, The Charles McLaughlin Reserve, Corner Crestwood Drive & Chapel Lane, (Entry from Crestwood Dr), Baulkham Hills.

 

Committee

POSITION NAME CONTACT
President Nigel Ward president at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Vice President Kim Coddington vice.president at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Secretary Doug Bickhoff secretary at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Treasurer Lauren Hoey treasurer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Membership Secretary Vacant membership.secretary at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Trip Convenor Darryn Osborn trip.convenor at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Head Driver Trainer Ben Sweetnam driver.trainer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Magazine Editor Monique Clelland editor at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Webmaster Brett Clarke webmaster at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Information Officer Leigh Barnett information.officer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Technical Officer Tom Stootman technical.officer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Catering Officer Glen Coddington catering.officer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
4WD Association Delegates

Shane McClymont 
Roger Pollett

4wddelegate at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Public Officer Treasurer public.officer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Purchasing/Equipment Officer Ed Walker equipment.officer at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au
Sergeant At Arms Glen Coddington sgtatarms at sydneydistrict4x4.com.au